Discover the story behind the poppy on Wednesday 9 November.

Join school children in the UK, Canada and beyond to be inspired by the moving story of John McCrae and mark the 150th anniversary of his birth.

Learn the story behind one of the world’s most famous poems, In Flanders Fields, and its links to the poppy as a symbol of commemoration. Creatively commemorate John McCrae, explore his incredible legacy and celebrate the continuing friendship between young people around the world.

Please click below to sign up to the 45 minute digital workshop you would like to attend. This workshop is open to all school year groups.

Any questions please email contact@big-ideas.org

Presentations will be in English.

This repeating event will take place three times to suit timezones from the UK and across Canada. If you can, please attend Event 2 as this workshop brings together the most Canadian and UK schools.

 

Event 1 – 09:30 GMT

Event 2 – 14:30 GMT / 10:30 AST / 09:30 EST / 08:30 CST

Event 3 – 17:30 GMT / 13:30 AST / 12:30 EST / 11:30 CST / 10:30 MST / 09:30 PST